曼图亚历史悠久的实力和影响力在贡扎加家族,它的一个主要的艺术, 文化, 意大利北部和国家,尤其是音乐中心作为一个整体. 曼图亚指出其在戏曲史上的重要作用, 被称为城市的建筑瑰宝和文物, 优雅的宫殿, 和中世纪和文艺复兴时期的城市景观. 它是罗马作家维吉尔的发源地最近的城镇. 这也是在莎士比亚的戏剧“罗密欧与朱丽叶”罗密欧放逐镇. 曼图亚是在12世纪创造的人工湖三面环. 这些接收Mincio河水域, 宝支流的下降,从湖 加尔达. 三湖被称为拉戈Superiore, 湖中, 拉戈Inferiore (“上”, “中间”, 和 “下湖”). 第四个湖, 湖Pajolo, 一旦完成了防守的城市水环, 在18世纪末干涸.
历史
早周围存在一个解决 2000 公元前Mincio银行, 上岛的排序提供了天然的保护. 在公元前6世纪,它是一个伊特鲁里亚村, 在伊特鲁里亚传统, 重新由Ocnus成立. 这个名字来源于伊特鲁里亚神Mantus, 冥王. 后,被征服的Cenomani, 高卢部落, 被征服的城市由罗马人之间的第一次和第二次布匿战争, 谁归功于它的名字曼托, 女儿的提瑞西阿斯. 奥古斯老兵填充新的领土. 曼图亚最著名的古代公民是诗人普布利乌斯Vergilius马罗, 维吉尔 (曼图亚我genuit), 谁是出生在附近的城市 70 B.C. 在村庄现在被称为维尔吉利奥. 罗马帝国衰落后, 反过来由拜占庭曼图亚被入侵, 伦巴族人和弗兰克斯. 它在11世纪成为一个博尼法斯嘉诺撒拥有, 侯爵托斯卡纳. 家族的最后一位统治者是嘉诺撒countessMatilda (ð. 1115), 谁, 据传说, 责令珍贵的Rotonda DI圣洛伦索建设 (1082). 嘉诺撒死亡后的明德, 曼图亚成为自由公社, 并竭力捍卫神圣罗马帝国在第12和13世纪. 在 1198 阿尔贝托Pitentino当然改变的Mincio, 创造什么Mantuans “四湖” 加强城市的自然保护. 之间 1215 和 1216 城市是根据圭尔夫Rambertino Buvalelli podesteria. 在之间Guelphs的Ghibellines斗争, pinamonte Bonacolsi了夺权的混乱局面的优势 1273. 他的家族统治,为下一世纪曼图亚, 使之更加繁荣和艺术美丽. 八月 16, 1328, 最后Bonacolsi, 里纳尔多, 在由冈萨加众议院支持反叛被推翻, 一个官员家庭. 路易吉·冈萨加, 已波德斯塔城市 1318, 当选 “人民的队长”. Gonzagas建五门新的墙壁和装修在14世纪的城市建筑, 但在城市的政治局势并没有解决,直到第三冈萨加, 卢多维科冈​​萨加, 取消他的亲戚, 为自己夺取政权. 文艺复兴时期, 冈萨加家庭软化了他们的专制统治,并提出了在曼图亚的文化和细化的水平。[3] 曼图亚是文艺复兴时期的艺术与人文精神的重要中心. 侯爵Gianfrancesco冈萨加带来了曼图亚维托里诺大Feltre 1423 打开他的著名的人文主义学校, 卡萨Giocosa. 的Mantuan继承战争爆发, 和 1630 帝国军队 36,000 landsknecht雇佣兵围攻曼图亚, 他们带来瘟疫. 曼图亚从来没有从这场灾难恢复. 费迪南德·卡罗IV, 一个无能的统治者,其唯一的兴趣是在控股方和戏剧表演, 在西班牙王位继承战争中与法国结盟. 后者的失败之后, 他在威尼斯避难, 随身携带一千图片. 在他的死亡 1708 他被宣布废黜,他的家人永远失去赞成奥地利哈布斯堡王朝曼图亚. 后来, 城市再传递到拿破仑的控制. 在今年 1810 PORTA朱利亚, 在博尔戈DI波尔图门镇 (城堡), 安德烈亚斯·霍费尔被枪杀; 他反对拿破仑率领蒂罗尔theCounty的起义. 法国统治后的短暂, 曼图亚返回奥地利 1814, 成为一个要塞城市Quadrilatero在意大利北部. 最终在起义历时从对奥地利的躁动 1851 到 1855, 终于由奥地利军队镇压. 意大利复兴运动最有名的事件之一发生在山谷的Belfiore, 当一群叛军被绞死奥地利人. 在 1866, 曼图亚成立于美国意大利撒丁岛王.
观光
Gonzagas保护文化艺术, 和主机的几个重要的艺术家,如莱昂·巴蒂斯塔·阿尔贝蒂, 安德烈Mantegna, 朱利奥罗马诺, 多纳泰罗, 彼得·保罗·鲁本斯, pisanello, 多梅尼科Fetti, 卢克和尼古拉斯Fancelli Sebregondi. 虽然许多的杰作已经散去, 曼图亚的文化价值仍然突出, 与许多曼图亚的贵族和教会的建筑物是意大利建筑的独特的重要的例子.
Palazzo德尔特的 宫德的矫饰风格的建筑是一个很好的例子, 朱利奥·罗马诺公认的杰作. 德宫是一个正方形的建筑, 构建 1524-1534 费德里克二世冈萨加, 侯爵曼图亚(Mantua). 他决定在 1524 建立一个游乐宫, 或别墅郊区. 场地选在了家庭的马厩的伊索拉DEL特在曼图亚的城墙外的沼泽边缘. 委托建筑师朱利奥·罗马诺, 拉斐尔的学生. 宫殿的外壳内设置 18 个月. 它基本上是一个平方的房子围绕着一个与世隔绝的庭院. 补充的正式花园的房子. 这是封闭由一个半圆形柱廊,被称为“Esedra终止的柱廊的附属建筑'.
公爵宫 曼图亚(Mantua) (“公爵宫”) 是一组建筑群在曼图亚, 伦巴第大区, 意大利北部, 主要由贵族家庭的Gonzaga大学作为他们的皇家住所,他们的公国的首都之间的第14和17世纪建造的. 楼宇连接走廊和画廊的内法院和广泛的花园和丰富. 包括一些复杂的 500 客房和占地的C. 34,000 平方米. 虽然曼特尼亚的壁画在相机中最有名的教堂Sposi (婚房), 他们有许多其他非常显着的建筑和手绘元素.
圣安德烈亚教堂 是一个罗马天主教的合作大教堂和小教堂在曼图亚, 伦巴第大区 (Italy). 它是15世纪文艺复兴时期的建筑在意大利北部的主要作品之一. 委托卢多维科II冈萨加, 教会开始 1462 根据莱昂·巴蒂斯塔·阿尔贝蒂设计的一个网站占用的本笃会修道院, 钟楼 (1414) 遗骸. 该建筑, 然而, 只完成 328 年后. 虽然后来修改和扩展,改变了阿尔贝蒂的设计, 教堂至今仍然被认为是阿尔贝蒂最完整的作品之一.

Mantova‘s historic power and influence under the Gonzaga family made it one of the main artistic, cultural, and especially musical hubs of Northern Italy and the country as a whole. Mantua is noted for its significant role in the history of opera, and the city is known for its architectural treasures and artifacts, elegant palaces, and medieval and Renaissance cityscape. It is the nearest town to the birthplace of the Roman writer Virgil. It is also the town to which Romeo was banished in William Shakespeare’s Play Romeo and Juliet. Mantua is surrounded on three sides by artificial lakes created during the 12th century. These receive the waters of the river Mincio, a tributary of the Po which descends from Lake Garda. The three lakes are called Lago Superiore, Lago di Mezzo, and Lago Inferiore (“Upper”, “Middle”, and “Lower Lake”). A fourth lake, Lake Pajolo, which once completed a defensive water ring of the city, dried up at the end of the 18th century.
HISTORY
A settlement existed as early as around 2000 BC on the banks of the Mincio, on a sort of island which provided natural protection. In the 6th century BC it was an Etruscan village which, in Etruscan tradition, was re-founded by Ocnus. The name derives from the Etruscan god Mantus, of Hades. After being conquered by the Cenomani, a Gallic tribe, the city was conquered between the first and second Punic wars by the Romans, who attributed its name to Manto, a daughter of Tiresias. The new territory was populated by veteran soldiers of Augustus. Mantua’s most famous ancient citizen is the poet Publius Vergilius Maro, Virgil (Mantua me genuit), who was born near the city in 70 B.C. at the village now known as Virgilio. After the fall of the Roman Empire, Mantua was invaded in turn by Byzantines, Longobards and Franks. In the 11th century it became a possession of Boniface of Canossa, marquis of Toscana. The last ruler of the family was the countessMatilda of Canossa (d. 1115), who, according to legend, ordered the construction of the precious Rotonda di San Lorenzo (1082). After the death of Matilda of Canossa, Mantua became a free commune, and strenuously defended itself from the Holy Roman Empire in the 12th and 13th centuries. In 1198 Alberto Pitentino altered the course of the Mincio, creating what Mantuans call “the four lakes” to reinforce the city’s natural protection. Between 1215 and 1216 the city was under the podesteria of the Guelph Rambertino Buvalelli. During the struggle between the Guelphs and the Ghibellines, Pinamonte Bonacolsi took advantage of the chaotic situation to seize power in 1273. His family ruled Mantua for the next century, making it more prosperous and artistically beautiful. On August 16, 1328, the last Bonacolsi, Rinaldo, was overthrown in a revolt backed by the House of Gonzaga, a family of officials. Luigi Gonzaga, who had been podestà of the city in 1318, was elected “People’s Captain”. The Gonzagas built new walls with five gates and renovated the architecture of the city in the 14th century, but the political situation in the city did not settle until the third Gonzaga, Ludovico Gonzaga, eliminated his relatives, seizing power for himself. During the Renaissance, the Gonzaga family softened their despotic rule and raised the level of culture and refinement in Mantua.[3] Mantua was a significant center of Renaissance art and humanism. Marquis Gianfrancesco Gonzaga had brought Vittorino da Feltre to Mantua in 1423 to open his famous humanist school, the Casa Giocosa. The War of the Mantuan Succession broke out, and in 1630 an Imperial army of 36,000 Landsknecht mercenaries besieged Mantua, bringing the plague with them. Mantua never recovered from this disaster. Ferdinand Carlo IV, an inept ruler whose only interest was in holding parties and theatrical shows, allied with France in the War of the Spanish Succession. After the latter’s defeat, he took refuge in Venice, carrying with him a thousand pictures. At his death in 1708 he was declared deposed and his family lost Mantua forever in favour of the Habsburgs of Austria. Later, the city again passed into Napoleon’s control. In the year 1810 by Porta Giulia, a gate of the town at Borgo di Porto (Cittadella), Andreas Hofer was shot; he had led the insurrection in theCounty of Tyrol against Napoleon. After the brief period of French rule, Mantua returned to Austria in 1814, becoming one of the Quadrilatero fortress cities in northern Italy. Agitation against Austria culminated in a revolt which lasted from 1851 to 1855, and was finally suppressed by the Austrian army. One of the most famous episodes of the Italian Risorgimento took place in the valley of the Belfiore, when a group of rebels was hanged by the Austrians. In 1866, Mantua was incorporated in the united Italy by the king of Sardinia.
SIGHTSEEING
The Gonzagas protected the arts and culture, and were hosts to several important artists such as Leone Battista Alberti, Andrea Mantegna, Giulio Romano, Donatello, Peter Paul Rubens, Pisanello, Domenico Fetti, Luca Fancelli and Nicolò Sebregondi. Though many of the masterworks have been dispersed, the cultural value of Mantua is nonetheless outstanding, with many of Mantua’s patrician and ecclesiastical buildings being uniquely important examples of Italian architecture.
Palazzo del Te or Palazzo Te is a fine example of the mannerist style of architecture, the acknowledged masterpiece of Giulio Romano. Palazzo del Te is a square building, constructed 1524-1534 for Federico II Gonzaga, Marquess of Mantua. He decided in 1524 to build a pleasure palace, or Villa Suburbana. The site chosen was that of the family’s stables at Isola del Te on the fringe of the marshes just outside Mantua’s city walls. The architect commissioned was Giulio Romano, a pupil of Raphael. The shell of the palazzo was erected within 18 months. It is basically a square house built around a cloistered courtyard. A formal garden complemented the house. This was enclosed by colonnaded outbuildings terminated by a semi-circular colonnade known as the ‘Esedra’.
The Palazzo Ducale di Mantova (“Ducal Palace”) is a group of buildings in Mantua, Lombardy, northern Italy, built between the 14th and the 17th century mainly by the noble family of Gonzaga as their royal residence in the capital of their Duchy. The buildings are connected by corridors and galleries and are enriched by inner courts and wide gardens. The complex includes some 500 rooms and occupies an area of c. 34,000 m². Although most famous for Mantegna’s frescos in the Camera degli Sposi (Wedding Room), they have many other very significant architectural and painted elements.
The Basilica of Sant’Andrea is a Roman Catholic co-cathedral and minor basilica in Mantua, Lombardy (Italy). It is one of the major works of 15th century Renaissance architecture in Northern Italy. Commissioned by Ludovico II Gonzaga, the church was begun in 1462 according to designs by Leon Battista Alberti on a site occupied by a Benedictine monastery, of which the bell tower (1414) remains. The building, however, was finished only 328 years later. Though later changes and expansions altered Alberti’s design, the church is still considered to be one of Alberti’s most complete works.